Frontgrid aci 1
Frontgrid camino
Frontgrid youbikeroad
Frontgrid sticksangel
Frontgrid lost crown cover
Frontgrid streetangel gang 1
Frontgrid fante bukowski 2
Frontgrid molwe cvr sol 600x779
Frontgrid cover 1000w
Frontgrid 9781506702247
Frontgrid cover 2c new skyline 01  2
Frontgrid 514qm0l2rql. sx363 bo1 204 203 200
Frontgrid love and rockets 3
Frontgrid 9781681773629
Frontgrid krazy herrimanbiobig
Frontgrid c7aejqmu0aarkx7
Frontgrid photo apr 03  11 10 16 am
Frontgrid 413635. sx1280 ql80 ttd
Frontgrid photo may 24  12 28 03 pm
Frontgrid 1500x1500 06ffddfe93a1614935248c70c1e5616952e086feb2da93c6fa2de41b
Frontgrid blubber4
Frontgrid pretendingislyinga
Frontgrid da911e70b57667a53069cc7d6a4b4960
Frontgrid iceland 20cover 400w
Frontgrid martha
Frontgrid the panic fables 9781620555378 hr
Frontgrid 9781606999851 zonzo
Frontgrid 58db807576b69 191369b
Frontgrid alacksinner1 innocence pr
Frontgrid monstercover final
Frontgrid my lesbian experience csb 411 front 456x640
Frontgrid boundless
Frontgrid eif cover 500px
Frontgrid omy
Frontgrid howtobealive 400w
Frontgrid crawl space 560
  • Index gillian welch the harrow the harvest
  • Index heatwavesburchfield
  • Index jamieartbig
  • Index jimmycorrigan
  • Index awakefieldsm
  • Index 3dpbox62
  • Index tumblr nm2950zls21sg9p6xo1 1280
  • Index 51gkd8buvel. sx258 bo1 204 203 200
  • Index chuangtzumerton
  • Index esperanzabig

Written 150 years ago, Democratic Vistas was Walt Whitman's vision of America, its meaning and its significance on the global stage.  As the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution form the basis of the government and legal foundation of the USA, with Democratic Vistas Whitman attempted to erect a spiritual outlook upon their foundation and as such could use a dusting off and a fresh look.  21st century Americans stand to gain a fresh appreciation of their country's meaning and potential.  Start in reading right now, below... 


DEMOCRATIC VISTAS by Walt Whitman 1867-68; revised 1891

As the greatest lessons of Nature through the universe are perhaps the lessons of variety and freedom, the same present the greatest lessons also in New World politics and progress. If a man were ask'd, for instance, the distinctive points contrasting modern European and American political and other life with the old Asiatic cultus, as lingering-bequeath'd yet in China and Turkey, he might find the amount of them in John Stuart Mill's profound essay on Liberty in the future, where he demands two main constituents, or sub-strata, for a truly grand nationality—1st, a large variety of character— and 2d, full play for human nature to expand itself in numberless and even conflicting directions—(seems to be for general humanity much like the influences that make up, in their limitless field, that perennial health-action of the air we call the weather—an infinite number of currents and forces, and contributions, and temperatures, and cross purposes, whose ceaseless play of counterpart upon counterpart brings constant restoration and vitality.) With this thought—and not for itself alone, but all it necessitates, and draws after it—let me begin my speculations. 


Continue reading Democratic Vistas with a downloadable PDF of the complete text, which may be found HERE.

The complete works of Walt Whitman may be found HERE.

Whitman around the time of the composition of Democratic Vistas.  Photograph by Matthew Brady.



The indexing on our main "Search Copacetic" engine apparently has a few holes in it – primarily related to creator searches, so we've added this option to the front page, below.  

(You can also find this option – along with several others – on every category page by clicking (options) in the teal bar next to the category name.) 

Creator name


PLEASE NOTE:  Creator name will auto-fill options; just select the one you want then hit enter/return on your keyboard.  ALSO:  You may need to scroll up the page once results are returned.

All news....